Those Baitcasters are Awesome

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Those Baitcasters are Awesome

I've been using spinners for over 40 years. My first spinner was a Mitchell 302 Saltwater (still use it today). I never tried baitcasters and I figured I had no need for them. They seemed harder to cast, and I didn't want to fuss with birdnests.

Over a year ago I read an article about a survey given to west coast kayak fisherman. The survey asked if the preferred reel was a spinner or baitcaster. I was surprised: about 70% preferred the BC. I asked myself, "Am I missing something?" and "What's the big deal?"

I decided I had to try one before I pass judgement and banish this "other" reel. About a year ago I bought a new middle-of-the-line Daiwa Saltist for shore fishing. Yep, I got a bunch of birdnests. One birdnest took me over half an hour to fix while I was shore fishing. It was a pain during following fishing trips, but I was determined to learn how to use the thing. My target was to make 30 casts with the BC every time I went fishing, which was almost every weekend. I finally got it down pat. On some trips, I didn't get any birdnests.

I went on to buy my first light-tackle BC, a Quantum Catalyst, for yak fishing. I liked it so much I bought several more BCs during these past months. I finally got it. I have seen the light. BCs are just awesome for yak fishing. (e.g., thumb control on the line, line on top so no tangle on the yak, lightweight, more line capacity)

I do get an occasional birdnest while fishing on the yak, but they are minor and can be fixed in less than a minute.

Pic: My for-yak-fishing collection today
    1st row - Abu Garcia: Revo SX HS, Orra Inshore, Ambassadeur C3 6500
    2nd row - Quantum: Cabo PTS, Catalyst PT, Tour Edition TE100
    3rd row - Shimano: Curado 200E7, Calcutta 200B, Calcutta CT-400
    4th row - Daiwa: Luna 253

BTW, I do occasionally bring a spinner as back-up on the yak