Spot Kill in Bay - 2 Million

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spot Kill in Bay - 2 Million

Weird.. I thought they all left the bay! 2 million dead, if they were having a bumper crop year like the article states, I wonder if this will even put a dent in the population for the upcoming season.

TJ

http://www.cnn.com/2011/US/01/06/mar...ex.html?hpt=T2

I saw this in the news and it sounds like live-lining may be tough next year...

I'm not an expert but my uninformed opinion would be that these fish hung around in the unseasonably warm waters in the upper bay too long and missed the trip back south. When the temps took a sharp drop it sent the fish deep and the prolonged cold caused a stress kill. It will be interesting to see how the population is impacted. Granted, my guess is based on the concept that these fish migrate south out of the bay when waters cool. I wouldn't be surprised to see a similar kill in the DE bay because they had a late run of jumbo spot and croakers, but on a smaller scale since the ocean water reaches it more easily than in the upper bay. We had a dry summer which kept salinity up which probably also contributed to the spot and hardhead sticking around... Just thinking outloud here.

Either way, bad news for rock with yet another food source taking a hit. Maybe next year will be a big year for menhaden, I saw so many schools of peanutbunker this year, more than the past few years combined. Small survey sample, but I have hope!
    Hobie Local Fishing Team - Backyard Boats
    Locations in Annapolis, MD and Woodbridge, VA
    https://www.backyardboats.com/

Comment

Originally posted by Redfish12 View Post
      I saw this in the news and it sounds like live-lining may be tough next year...