Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help at Jonas Green

Hi,

I am a novice kayaker and an average fisherman. I have wanted to get out into the deeper water at Jonas Green for years, but could not due to the pier being so crowded. Would anyone mind giving me a few tips as to what types of lures/bait to use for either stripers or croakers? If so, depth and rod technique tips would be especially welcome as well.

I am planning to go tomorrow, Sunday June 30th and am looking forward to my first kaying fishing trip as well as a season of fun.

Thank you,

UnkleRob

I found fish near the many wooden dock pilings at Jonas Green last week. They were the piers to the right of the launch area as you face the water.

I used light spinning tackle and casted a ΒΌ oz. Rat L Trap (blue and silver) or 1/8 oz. jig with a curly tailed white grub as close to the pilings as I could. Sometimes I casted directly under a pier and retrieved the line through the pilings. My retrieves were steady and rather fast. It’s hard to outrun a determined striper with your lure.

It helps to have the tide moving the water in or out of the structure of the pilings, rocks, etc. Fish will typically lay in wait behind the structure shielded from currents to ambush baits. When you recognize the direction and flow of the water and cast accordingly it’s a big aid in catching fish.

If your casting skills are not developed and you fear hanging up your line on piers or other structures you can troll your crank bait or grub behind your boat as you paddle through open water. The fish will literally hook themselves as they attack your bait.

There is no substitute for getting out there and trying various methods. In time you will learn what works best on a given day.

Good luck,

Mark
    Mark
    Pasadena, MD

Slate Hobie Revolution 13
    Hidden Oak Native Ultimate 12
    Lizard Lick Native Ultimate FX Pro

Comment