Best Type Of Line For A Baitcasting Reel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Type Of Line For A Baitcasting Reel

I'm just starting to use a Baitcasting Reel. What is the consensus about the best type of line to use with emphasis on cutting back on the number of birds nests? I really like using braided line and have switched all of my spin casters that way. Will it work on a Baitcaster? Thanks All.

yes braid will work on all types of reels, Using a backer such as mono or electric tape is crucial just like on a spinning reel. I use braid on my bait casters, but also like mono as well for certain things.
    Zach Moore
    Delaware Paddle Sports Fishing Team
    Fishal Custom Baits Pro Staff
    Bait Towel Pro Staff
    2017 Hobie Pro Angler 12
    YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSa...8WkC2WzHhAjVaQ

Comment

Rus, I agree with Zach. I have been using braid on all my bait casters for the last two years. Mono backer does the trick for me as well. I am casting a 1/4 oz jig around 20 yds with no birds' nest. Just set the reel brake and thumb the spool. One note of warning, I learned the hard way about over powering my rod with braid, cost me a new Star rod.
      Gary

Comment

T've used baitcasters for decades and learned one thing well
        the type line has little to No effect on the number or severity of bird's nesting you're gonna get.
        Practice practice practice
        start with a cheap line and find a football field to practice on.
        vary the weights you're throwing
        use old plugs with the hooks removed to gain insight into wind resistance
        cast with the wind to start and when your thumb aquires an education try casting into the wind.
        Start off just trying to lob the bait sidearm or underhand save the frustration of overhead casting for when your thumb instinctively knows when to buckle down
        cast with your wrist not your body ( something that every Kayaker should practice)