Do we need a good day of rain?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do we need a good day of rain?

Ive been suffering real bad from allergies and we need a good wash over. Some of these rivers are too clear, which really doesnt help fishing that much. A good day or two of rain would be nice. What do yall think?
    Hobie Outback
    WS Tarpon
    IG: #liveyakfish

Without a doubt, everything needs a good soaking. Looks like maybe this weekend

Chimo

Comment

We need the rain for sure, I just hope it isn't already too late. Thinking back to last year we had plenty, so much that Fletcher's wasn't safe for boating most of the spring. Along with that we one of the most successful striper spawns ever recorded. I'm no scientist, but there must be some message there. I know I'm not looking forward to this year's YOY index.

Comment

Originally posted by Capt C-Hawk View Post
        Along with that we one of the most successful striper spawns ever recorded. I'm no scientist, but there must be some message there. I know I'm not looking forward to this year's YOY index.
        You hit the nail on the head, Bob. The spawning success of striped bass and other anadromous fish is strongly tied to freshwater flow in March, April, and May. One of my buddies who studied anadromous fish recruitment for his PhD thinks March is the most important of the three. Seeing how dry it was in March and thus far through April, I suspect it may already be too late, but we don't know everything and a good bit of rain in the rest of April and May might help salvage things.
        Yellow Hobie Revo Rube Goldberg
        Yellow Tarpon 120

Comment

Plus... think about how rough it was last spring and how many of those big fish got out of the bay alive. However, they probably were caught this fall/winter in the waters off NJ/MD/VA/NC.

I wish there was a slot limit like Red Drum.
          Hobie Local Fishing Team - Backyard Boats