Drop Shot - How's it working for you?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drop Shot - How's it working for you?

So I thought I'd try my hand at using the drop shot technique @ Liberty Reservoir this weekend.

I'll be using the following tackle:

1. Line: KastKing braid (15lb)
    2. Leader: Seagur fluorcarbon (20lb)
    3. Hook: Owner's Mosquito (2/0)
    4. Weight: S&J's Tungsten Drop Shot (1/4oz)

Plan on setting the hook 18" above weight using Palomar knot.

Lures:
    Plan on trying the following:
    1. Senko worms (wacky style)
    2. Baby D Bomb (Missle Baits)
    3. Fat Swing Impact Swimbait (Keitech)
    4. Roboworm

In terms of where, I guess I'll just use my Deeper Fish finder and drop when I find something interesting.

I've never done this before and am only going off of what I've read/seen on the internet. From what I've seen people use a combination of hooking the lure through the nose and/or a Texas rig.

Any thoughts, hints, lessons learned people have regarding bass fishing using this method would be appreciated.

Thanks,

smithmal
    Last edited by smithmal; 10-25-2017, 03:19 PM.
    smithmal

2017 Native Ultimate 12 (Lagoon Blue)
    Bending Branches Angler Pro Plus Paddle

2016 Old Town Twin Heron Tandem (Mango)

2012 Nova Craft Pal 16' in Royalex-Lite (Burgundy)

1990 Radisson 12' (SportsPal)

I use a smaller hook, size 6 or 4 when fishing something like the roboworm or any other straight worm. I only fish those thru the nose. I also use a tube bait which should be kind of similar to your baby D Bomb. For that I do use a bigger offset hook and rig it like I would a carolina rig -its a big bait and I want to make sure the hook gets in the mouth. Patience with an occasional jiggle will serve you well. Good Luck - I think you'll enjoy drop shotting.
    Mike
    Pro Angler 14 "The Grand Wazoo"

Comment

Mike,