Suggestions for a good starter set for fresh water fishing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Suggestions for a good starter set for fresh water fishing

Total newb at using artificial lures. My fishing experience has been using worms and squid on the bay with my Dad (an not being very successful most of the time). I started looking on Amazon and before I knew it, I had $120 of lures in my cart. I thought I'd ask you guys if there is an all encompassing fresh water lure set that would get me started. If not a set, would would you suggest me start with? Hoping for decent quality lures (i.e. better than you'd give your teenager, but not pro level quality).

Thanks,

smithmal
    Last edited by smithmal; 09-13-2017, 04:21 PM.
    smithmal

2017 Native Ultimate 12 (Lagoon Blue)
    Bending Branches Angler Pro Plus Paddle

2016 Old Town Twin Heron Tandem (Mango)

2012 Nova Craft Pal 16' in Royalex-Lite (Burgundy)

1990 Radisson 12' (SportsPal)

Well you don't have to put 100's into it but a few packs of soft plastics a few crank baits and a few top waters and a spinner bait or 2 would be a good start.

Yakman35
    Perception striker 11.5

Comment

In the way of plastics I recommend some senkos some brush hogs or similar creature style bait and some worm styles that can double as a drop shot bait. Mix up your crank bait selection to some shallow and some deep runners and your spinner baits a mix of Colorado blades and Willow blades.

Yakman35
      Perception striker 11.5

Comment

That should get you on the water and fishing while you build your tackle arsenal. Also can't go wrong with a skirted jig

Yakman35
        Perception striker 11.5

Comment

Definetly some Senko type lures in green/pumpkin or black paired with 3/0 or 4/0 wide gap worm hooks, some jig heads with 4" curly tail grubs, a top water or two and you'll handle a heck of a lot of largemouth situations.
          Mike
          Pro Angler 14 "The Grand Wazoo"

Comment