Surf fishing for sharks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surf fishing for sharks

I'm new to the area and to saltwater fishing. I'm super interested into hooking into sharks, but before I hop on a kayak and attempt something like that I want to get the feel for catching sharks from the surf first. so my question is where is a good place to catch decent sized sharks. I'm around Annapolis, MD area if that helps any.

I have no personal experience with sharking from the beach but there is a dedicated group of guys who did it from Assateague Island. They usually fish at night and post some impressive sharks. A google search for Assateague shark fishing should get you going. Hope to see some pics from you one day.
    Tarpon 120, no electronics, no pedals.
    Tarpon 100, the karma boat.

Comment

I have caught them up to 5 feet long at night from the Assateague surf but never using a kayak. Fresh menhaden has been the best bait for me, either big chunks or heads. There are a lot of guys that kayak baits out 300+ yards to catch the really big ones, but I don't like the idea of launching my kayak in the surf at night personally. They are a blast to catch, but be ready to tangle with some massive rays.
      Joe

2020 Vibe Shearwater 125

Comment

Are you looking to fish from a kayak or the beach?