Seats/Comfort: Outback vs. PA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seats/Comfort: Outback vs. PA

I've been talking about getting a new yak for about 2 years now, and I'm finally ready to do it. Questions for those who have experience with both PA and Outback:

-I'm a bigger guy (about 6'4" 230lbs) and am worried about comfort levels. How does the seat on the Outback compare to the PA? Can I put a PA seat on an Outback without too much work?

-What is the main advantage for the PA? I know it's larger and more stable...but if I'm not planning on standing to fish and don't need tons of storage, what other benefits does PA offer?

I realize I'll probably get a bunch of varied opinions, but I'm interested in and grateful for any advice that can be provided.

Thanks in advance,

John

My experience is in the PA. I'm a bigger guy weight wise than you. I greatly appreciate the elevated seat position for entry and exit and the full adjustability of the seat. What i really like is the stability of the PA. You give up speed for the extra beam but you will quickly learn to love how solid the yak is. Like you, I'm also a minimalist and I store almost all my tackle besides the seat or under it leaving the cockpit wide open. The downside of that stability is weight. I trailer my yak, which makes Anne Arundal pretty much off limits to me. One problem I've seen with the new Outback is lines catching on the rudder and they are very difficult to get off. I've helped Yak67 multiple times get his line off the rudder of his Outback. He also looks like a bear on a tricycle in the Outback compared to his PA. I'm sure he'll give you a thorough analysis of both.
    Mike
    Pro Angler 14 "The Grand Wazoo"

Comment

I owned a PA -14 and Have a PA-12 and Outback now. For your size and weight the PA-14 is the way to go. Great room and comfort. I sold my PA-14 to a guy who was about your size. Stability wise it's great, no issues with roll-over.