Wind weather app

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wind weather app

This is my first year fishing this side of the bay and I'm really liking it, but I can't get this weather/wind down. Granted I don't know all the nooks and crannies to avoid the wind, which will come with time. The Eastern Shore is loaded with plan B's. Unfortunately, I have showed up a few times on this side, mostly Smallwood, and have been shutdown due to wind. What app are you guys using for weather /wind? Also, could you guys throw me one bone for a more protected nock for those windy days.
    Any help appreciated
    Jay

10' Green Slayer
    13’ Red Slayer

Have you tried Windfinder, lots of us use this one.
    John Rentch
    Annapolis

Native Ultimate 12 FX Pro
    Hobie Revolution 11

Comment

I use Windfinder as well. I'd say it's accurate about 80% of the time on speed and a touch better on direction. I find direction is more important to me than speed as it helps me select where to fish (and frequently wind on the water is stronger than forecast). It looks like you're in Arlington. It's not a lot further to come to St Mary's where you can almost always find a place out of the wind by fishing the Pax or Potomac depending on direction. Clarks Landing (Cuckold Creek of the Pax) is almost always fishable no matter the wind direction because there isn't a lot of fetch.
      Mike
      Pro Angler 14 "The Grand Wazoo"

Comment

Ditto to the Windfinder App.

Fort Smallwood is one of those area that is exposed to just about any wind because of it's location.

Comment

The best I have found so far is Windty. Very clean, easy to use and concise forecast.

Comment

I use both of the Apps mentioned here. One important aspect in working on a plan B is to have looked at the charts for the area the night before while you have the wind forecast up. That way, you can see where you can run for shelter if needed, or assess the viability of a launch before you ever leave your couch.