Flounder Fishing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flounder Fishing

So does anyone on this site flounder fish and would be willing to teach. I have always wanted to learn but have NO idea of how, when, where. Looking for any advise. Thanks in advanced.
    2017 Hobie PA14

Watch this guy's videos on youtube.

https://www.youtube.com/user/jskinner5278

Comment

Few anglers target flounder in the Chesapeake Bay until you get down toward the mouth of the Potomac. The best DE, MD, or VA locations to target flounder are at the ocean coast of the eastern shore. I am far from an expert at flounder fishing. On the rare occasions that I do fish for flounder, I drift with a two-hook wire bottom rig -- select enough weight to hold bottom as you drift, but not an excessive amount.

006_4.jpg 011.jpg 012.jpg

I use either circle hooks (previous photos) or flounder hooks (the red hook style on the right) on snelled leaders and small spinners on the bottom rig.

001_16.jpg

For bait I use various combinations of live minnows, squid strips, Gulp, or shrimp.

I have caught flounder from my kayak at Ocean City near the Rt 50 bridge, Wachapreague inlet, and CBBT near Fisherman's Island. If you are trying a new area, it is often helpful to stop in a local tackle shop to find out where and how they recommend (it is good form to buy some bait or tackle from them if you are picking their brains).

In case you don't already know it, flounder have a mouth full of sharp teeth -- do not stick your fingers in there to unhook the fish. Although they have plenty of teeth, do not set the hook when you feel a fish. My approach is to gradually lift the rod and sweep it up and back to ensure that I have a fish, not a bottom snag. Good luck.
      John Veil
      Annapolis
      Native Watercraft Manta Ray 11, Falcon 11