Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fishing Kayak Length? Type?

I'm very new to kayak fishing.

I'm interested in buying a sit on top fishing kayak and I've been focused on something in the 12' range. I'll mostly be freshwater fishing in ponds, small lakes and eastern shore rivers. I'm not ruling out fishing in the bay rivers (south, severn, etc.).

I'm 6'2 and go about 235, certainly not a little guy.

I've done some online study and it looks like there are several 12' models that will provide stability too (native slayer, old town predator mx, wilderness ride 115).

Am I looking at the right kind of kayaks? Is 12' long ok?

I plan to put the kayak in the bed of my pick-up truck (with support and a red flag, of course!).

Thanks,

You are not a little guy compared to most of us, but next to me (6'4", 250 lb), you are still smaller. There are many kayaks that would accommodate your weight and height. Make sure you learn the weight capacity of each model under consideration. You need to make sure to account for the weight of all the gear you plan to carry with you.

Length is important for several reasons. On the positive side, longer kayaks generally are faster and track straighter than shorter kayaks of the same style. Longer kayaks tend to have more storage space available through built-in areas or by adding storage. On the negative side, longer kayaks tend to be heavier and less nimble to move on land, including how you transport them in or on your vehicle. You noted that you plan to transport your kayak in a pickup with a support (presumably a hitch extender bar). In that case, you could easily consider a 12' or even a 14' kayak.

Think also about where you will store the kayak at home. Determine if you have any weight or length restrictions there.