FF GPS question for Newbie.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FF GPS question for Newbie.

Great Forum. I am new to kayak fishing and haven't even bought my kayak yet. I love trolling so am edging toward a Native propel or Hobe Outback. I have had numerous boats. I have always had separate electronics. I know they make combo units but the screens are so small. Should I get two units? I have used an app on my phone for the GPS chart. Should I get a larger FF and use my phone for Nav? Or get two units? I am sure space is a premium on a kayak. Any thoughts?
    John
    Hobie Adventure Island 16'

Slayer Propel 10

Pelican Trailblazer ( don't hate , pond use only)

Lowrance Elite-5

Best unit on the market for kayak fishing in my opinion. Screen is large enough to have Chartplotter (GPS map), sonar and down imaging all running at the same time.

I like the Hobie Outback...have two of them.
    Hobie fleet:
    2017 Quest 13
    2015 Outback
    2014 Outback

Comment

I use the Garmin EchoMap 44dv. I love it! The screen isn't as big as the Elite 5, but it is more than big enough to meet the needs of most kayak fisherman
      Bruce

Hobie PA 14
      Wilderness System, Thresher 155

Comment

+1 on the Lowrance - I like the HDI version

Comment

Originally posted by Skidsteer View Post
          +1 on the Lowrance - I like the HDI version
          Mine is HDI also, the current version is CHIRP, which also does down imaging (HDI) but the CHIRP is supposed to enhance traditional sonar...I don't have experience using the CHIRP, but from what I understand it is more of a benefit when used in "deep" water...the kind not found in the Bay.
          Hobie fleet:
          2017 Quest 13
          2015 Outback
          2014 Outback

Comment

Originally posted by tech11165 View Post