Trolling Reel?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trolling Reel?

What's the consensus on reels for trolling. Do you all mostly use spinners or do you use conventional reels for that? I'm new to the kayak fishing and have some spinners but didn't know if I needed to look for a conventional. Thanks
    2016 Hobie Outback Limited #220
    2016 Jackson Cuda 12
    2015 Emotion 11 Stealth Angler

mixed bag- if you are trolling for big stripers, big redfish, etc. I use low profile conventional reels loaded with 30# braid, but lots of folks on the forum use all spinning gear...I find conventional reels makes controlling large fish easier and is heavier duty tackle ...and I am old school- grew up using bait casting tackle
    "Lady Luck" 2016 Red Hibiscus Hobie Outback, Lowrance Hook2-7TS
    2018 Seagrass Green Hobie Compass, Humminbird 798 ci HD SI
    "Wet Dream" 2011 yellow Ocean Prowler 13
    Charter member of Tonkin Gulf Yacht Club

Comment

I concur. The heavier weights and larger lures work better on my conventionals than spinning -- even with the larger size reels that are available.
      -Omid

2015 ivory outback

Comment

I generally use 3000-4000 size spinners. Penn battle are cheap and durable. I like hearing the drag when a fish is on. I guess if you have a clicker on your conventional then you have that too...
        John Hostalka

Delaware Paddlesports and
        Hobie Fishing team member

2018 Camo Hobie Outback
        2015 Hobie Outback

Comment

Thanks for the response so far. I have used conventional reels on boats trolling and I have to admit I love the sound of those clickers but wasn't sure about those on a yak. I currently have a Cabo 50 PSDE and didn't know whether to go up in size on a spinner that could do double duty as a jigging set-up or get a conventional just for trolling. To many damn options !!!
          2016 Jackson Cuda 12

Comment