Assateague Beach

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Assateague Beach

I hit the beach this weekend to do some camping and surf fishing. My brother-in-law Scott and I arrived Friday evening, set up camp and drove out on the beach for some late night action. Unfortunately the only action we saw was a few skate. The weather was better than we had a right to expect and the stars were magnificent so we could not complain. The next day would certainly reward us with some large Blues.

Saturday found us on the beach again and the action was very slow. We kept getting small hits but were unable to land them. I decided to downsize the bait and hooks to see what was pestering us. It turned out to be extremely small Blues. As the day wore on and with nothing big to show for our efforts I decided to launch the Kayak and drop a couple of large baits well off shore. I have never done this before and while I hoped for a possible Red Drum I did not expect much. Within minutes of my return the clicker began to sound and I set the hook on something very big. After fighting the fish for about two minutes my heart sank as the line went slack. When I reeled in the line I discovered my 80# leader was chewed through. Thinking Shark, I re-loaded with a metal leader, a size 8 hook and half a bunker and paddled back out about 300 yards off shore.