CBBT Info for First Timer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CBBT Info for First Timer

I have limited knowledge regarding CBBT fishing. I think first timers can get more info from many experienced kayakers by using this thread.
    Here is the basic info for CBBT fishing. We can add more useful info, such as backup places, on this thread. So, first-timers, please ask questions:

Parking and Launch:

Buoy 44 Seafood Grill
    4536 Ocean View Ave
    Virginia Beach, VA 23455

Practice common sense street parking near the restaurant. Three are soft paths to beach between the blocks. We usually launch between the restaurant and restaurant parking lot. That path is public. You can park and unload/load kayaks.
    Bring a cart is recommended. The distance from hard surface to the water isn't that long.

Bait and tackle shops:

Oceans East Bait & Tackle Shop
    5785 Northampton Blvd #104
    Virginia Beach, VA 23455
    (757) 464-6544
    Opens at 5 AM - call for confirmation

Long Bay Pointe Bait and Tackle
    2109 West Great Neck Road
    Virginia Beach, VA 23451
    Opens at 5 AM - call for confirmation
    (757) 481-7517

Tide/Current Info: - For me this is very important. Based on the current, I plan when to move (longer distance) when to fish for a particular target species.

The directions of the current at CBBT follows "Progressive Wave Model". The "Progressive Wave Model" applies to the most of East coast bays and sounds, including CHSP

In summary, The strongest current occur roughly in high and low tides. The slack tide occur roughly in the middle of the high and the low tide, and the low and the high tide. I have been verifying the "Progressive Wave Model" theory at CBBT and CHSP for months.
    So all you remember is times for high and low tides.

The directions of currents roughly:

Low tide - strong outgoing tide
    in the middle - slack. The current changes from outgoing to incoming
    High tide - Strong incoming tide