Need some advice where to fish

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some advice where to fish

Hey guys I'm in Baltimore city. I'm new to bass fishing and I'm looking for some nice nearby public ponds or any freshwater fairly close. I'm right by M&T bank stadium. I'm looking for somewhere to practice my techniques and catch a few bass to get my confidence up. Any suggestions are appreciated. Id also appreciate a list of popular lakes, rivers that all u guys fish. I have an ascend fs10 angler kayak. Please help because I have no idea where to find LMB or SMB

Eastern Shore really....Smithville, Wye Mills, Unicorn Lake.

You can do Belle Grove Ponds in Brooklyn, launching at the Baltimore Highlands ramp...but it's a bit of a paddle.....and in a 10 foot boat that might not be the best. Smaller the boat, slower it is normally. Thats like 15 minutes from you, if that. Lots of species in those ponds....Ive read about Perch, Largemouth, Pickerel, Rockfish, and even Smallmouth in the last pond.

Comment

Lake Roland, just north of the city, is a easy place to get started. It has bass, and sunfish.

Comment

Columbia, MD is often overlooked in fresh water discussions. There are 4 nice bass lakes, 3 of which you need to get a permit through the Columbia Association to launch a yak and the other is pay-to-launch. Lake Elkhorn, Kittamaqundi, and Wilde can be fished from shore or by permit and are very accessible. Lake Centennial is pay to launch. I prefer fishing Elkhorn and Centennial. Elkhorn has two access areas, one is just off of Rt. 32. There is plenty of structure and cover so it's pretty easy to figure the lake out. I also fish out of an Ascend FS10, so I can understand your search for smaller waters. It ain't gonna set any speed records, but it's incredibly stable to fish from. Hope that helps.

Comment

I have never got a permit to fish those lakes nor paid at centennial to launch a yak.. I believe its pay to keep a trailer there.