What's a good place to camp/Kayak near Harrisburg, Pa

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's a good place to camp/Kayak near Harrisburg, Pa

As the title implies, a buddy and I would like to camp/fish the Susqy near Harrisburg. We will be coming up from Delaware to catch some smallies and whatever else wants to bite our flies and lures. Never been up there except to visit Cabelas so don't really know the area very well. Any help on a good place to camp hopefully near or on the river would be much appreciated!

Thanks, Jason

I've never camped near Harrisburg so I have zero first hand knowledge. Google is your friend. Type in "Camping near Harrisburg PA". The closes campground might be Riverfront Campground located right where the Susky meets the Juniata River. I've never been there but I think they run canoe/kayak shuttles and rent boats.

Just to be sure you are aware, all of the Susky within many miles of Harrisburg is year-round catch & return for smbass.
    Last edited by HJS; 08-31-2013, 06:09 PM.
    Howard

16' Oldtown Camper Canoe with a side-mount 40# thrust trolling motor.

Comment

I Know Google is my friend and have been doing so. Don't keep or eat fish really so no issues there, just like the way a fish pulls on my line ( obsessed with it actually). Thought maybe some of the guys that live that way could give some direction if possible. Doesn't have to be near Harrisburg necessarily, just an area that gets brought up a lot. Want to stay within three hours of lower Delaware. I've even used the search button here and not come with much either by the way. Thanks in advance again for any advice

Jason

Comment