Promotion at Work

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Promotion at Work

As some of you may know, I work for the FAA making aeronautical charts that pilots use for navigation. http://www.faa.gov/air_traffic/flight_info/aeronav/ http://www.faa.gov/tv/?mediaId=378

I've been here for just over 9 years now. I moved up the ranks quite nicely, and rather quickly. At the age of 32, I've been a GS-14 for 2+ years now. Well I got another promotion. I am now a manager/supervisor! Though temporary for the time being, I got the news last week of this appointment after the typical application & interview process a few weeks prior. Upon dust settling, the managers above me in their temporary capacities will be converted to permanent. When that happens, I'll be converted to permanent as well. Pay is relatively unchanged, as I was previously making the equivalent manager pay. But now my earning potential/ceiling has been raised even higher.

Unfortunately this means I'll need to be here in the office just about all the time during the work week. In the past, I wouldn't hesitate to call out to spend the occasional weekday on the water fishing or crabbing. What worked out really well were the early morning "quickies", allowing me to fish & crab early, and be in the office by 10:30/11am. With the added responsibility, I have to be here more consistently. So I'll be more of a weekend warrior I guess. Perhaps when the days get longer next year I'll be doing more evening trips.
    <insert witty comment here>

Congrats MetroMan!

But that really sucks about now having less time to fish! Argh... I'm afraid you have no choice but to turn down the promotion...
    Mike S.
    Hobie Outback
    Chesapeake Bay Kayak Anglers
    3D Printed Hobie Hatch Bucket

Comment

Hey MetroMan, I work for the Dept. of Transportation within the Office of the Secretary.