Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Monthly Meet & Greet - Aug 14

All:

Since I had the bright idea Matt used his college powers and coolly suggested that I be the one to organize a monthly meet and greet. That's logical. There's hope for the leaders of the free world yet!

I've entered a recurring event on the calendar for the second Saturday of each month through December. Not sure we'll be able to go out that late in the year but it's there. I was also able to add an email reminder for 3 days prior.

Since I'm new to the kayak game and unfamiliar with a lot of launch locations I'm nominating Sandy Point State Park for August 14th. Let's say at 8AM? High tide is at 9:01AM with low at 2:47PM. By the time we launch the tide should be running.

Seems a safe pick that many are familiar with. Other suggestions? Hope to see you on the water!

Tight lines!
    John

that is cool with me, after SPSP maybe do somewere different to try a new place; Rumandcoke, ches beach, breezy point some places that should not be done alone. i know some good places on the eastside also not too far for the Va. guys

Comment

Definitely up for any of those suggestions. The bay is an awesome resource and HUGE. I've only been in the area 10 years and have barely scratched the surface. Probably can't explore all those new places before I die. But I will die trying!

Let's see what sort of response we get. If a consensus develops for another location let's change it up!

Comment

live to fish and die fishing. having a massive heart attack while pulling on a yellow fin tuna is my 2nd best way to kick off

Comment

Hahaha that would not be bad way to go for me either!

While we're on the subject of planning I'd like to suggest a few other venues we should check out.

1) Kiptopeke in December (If you don't know why check out Kayak Kevin's page)
          2) The hot ditch in Jan or Feb
          3) Susquehanna Flats in April
          4) Jamaica Bay Tournament in May