rod and reel combo.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• rod and reel combo.

As i have little salt water experience, does anyone have a recommendation for a rod and reel combo. Something that is universal, so that i dont have to buy another rod later on. Any sugestions would be helpful. . I was doing some croaker fishing down in cambridge md with just a baitcaster. that worked out real well........ would i use something a little larger for say stripers and blues.
    Last edited by fjarhead; 07-14-2010, 04:00 PM.

That's a really broad question. It depends on the fish you are targeting. You would use a much smaller rod for species like croaker and blues than you would for stripers. Flounder is somewhere in between. Also, I troll with baitcasters and use a spinning combo for bait fishing. I have an Ugly Stick SP 1101 with an Okuma Inspira 40 spinning reel which can be used for chunking and casting for stripers and also for flounder. I have 2 medium-heavy All Star rods, one a baitcaster and one a spinning rod. I have an Abu-Garcia Ambassador baitcasting reel and an Abu-Garcia Cardinal spinning reel. My rod collection is approaching 20 and I have a use for all of them but the 3 I mentioned above have enough versatility to fish for most inshore saltwater species found in our area.

Comment

Good question

I don't have 20 rods but I seem to have alot. My favorite is my MH action Tiger Rod with the either Abu 6500 Rocket or the Penn 325? Mag. I know I don't really fish the bay alot yet but I will. So what is a good combo. I like the baitcasters with clickers and like the ugly stiks.

Comment