What works best?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What works best?

This is a pretty broad question. I have been fishing the upper bay tidal rivers, inlets etc. Should I be bottom fishing? What works best around the docks and shallow areas? Rigs and bait? So much info out there. I guess since Im just getting started I want to keep it fairly simple if thats even possible.

Target species?

Comment

Ideally I would like to target largemouth bass, smaller striped bass if they are even in the smaller creeks etc. All I seem to catch is perch by accident, which is ok but not my target. I have caught perch on senko worms, real night crawlers, and berkley minnows. Havent had any luck with topwater lures over grass, probably just inexperience. Due to the time of year should I only be focusing on a certain species? Thanks to everyone for the help. So much to learn.

Comment

Largemouths, white perch, and schoolie stripers are pretty abundant right now in the upper bay and tidal rivers. The amount of tackle and tactics on the market is a bit overwhelming but every fisherman has his "go to" lures and techniques. Here are a couple of mine for largemouths and resident stripers.
        1. 1/2 oz silver Rat-L-Traps along dropoffs and channel/structure edges. The trap is my favorite lure. I've caught hundreds (possibly thousands) of fish on traps including largemouths, smallmouths, perch, walleye, stripers. It's perfect for a beginner because it just takes a fairly fast, steady retrieve and the 2 trebles often set themselves with the retrieve speed. No finesse needed. Baitcaster recommended.
        2. 7-inch pumpkinseed plastic worm Carolina rigged around structure (i.e.,docks, logs, grasses). If you can get vertical then I prefer to use a dropshot rig.
        3. 4-3/8 inch Rapala floating jointed minnow in perch or silver. I use this with a topwater retrieve (slow) over the grasses in early morning or at dusk.

Comment