Chainbridge,DC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chainbridge,DC

Took the ultralight to fish for perch with small jigsw/flickers and tubeworms.Caught about a dozen, but to small to take.Hooked a nice smallmouth but it managed to tangle my line around some rocks easy to do with 6lb line.One person caught about an 8lb snakehead(he took it home).I saw alot of people catching catfish from 1lb to 8lb.It seems like there is a good brood of baby rockfish,I caught about a dozen in the 6" range.I did see a 12" snakefish surface, I don't know if he is at the top of the food chain in DC with the all the blue harrons,poachers,nets and big trebble hooks people fish with.LOL

I had a nice morning at Chain Bridge on Saturday. A first for me: 4 species. I'm a novice fly guy and also carry a spinning rod. I caught a hickory (yep, some still around, a female with roe) and a small striper on the spinning rod. Then, I resolved to work my 5/6 wt fly rod exclusively to see if I could do anything.

Well, within a dozen casts a striper about 16". Very nice. Also got several of those small stripers. Then, a fat, 15" smallmouth. First smallmouth I ever got on the fly. Wow! Several jumps, dives, upstream, downstream. And then, the pièce de résistance... a 20" American shad. Also a first for me on the fly! Man, that is a hard fighting fish.

Went out again yesterday morning and left the spinning rod in the truck. The tide was way, way low but I did manage a white perch and another 16" striped bass in an hour before the sun got really bright.

Them schoolie stripers on a fly rod will keep me interested. Now I'll need a Scotty fly rod holder for my kayak!

Comment

John,