Mounting a Transducer for the 385ci

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mounting a Transducer for the 385ci

Does anyone have any ideas as to how to mount the transducer for my new Hummingbird 385ci. I currently have been using a duct putty concoction that surfdog showed me last year and worked good until the last time I used it then I got no signal from the Transducer. So now I have this new unit and it reccomends a wet well mount and not sure which is better. I think I like the idea of the wet mount just looks like a lot of work and I'm not too good at doing the mechanical part of this stuff. I am also planning on mounting my Yak up and under my carport and will need some help with that if anyone is up for it. My treat for lunch and beer for any volunteers...
    Thanks in advance for the feedback.
    Tom Brown
    Pro Staff: Balloon FisherKing, Catch 5 Baits, Century Rods, Smith Optics.
    2012 Hobie PA 14'
    Ocean Kayak Tident 13
    2012, 2014, 2015, CBKA Tournament 1st place Crab Div.

I have installed transducers on two kayaks and a small skiff by gluing them to the inside of the hull using Goop. It is easy, and the sonar results have worked well for me. However, it becomes a permanent mount and does not allow for an accurate temperature reading. If you want to do an installation like that, I would be happy to help.

Several of the other guys here have experience with the wet well installation. They find it easy and seem to like the results. I have no familiarity with that method and cannot provide any guidance.

If you choose to follow the Goop glue in method, let me know. Regarding the kayak storage project, what method are you proposing for holding or moving the kayak (racks, pulleys, etc.)?
    John Veil
    Annapolis
    Native Watercraft Manta Ray 11, Falcon 11