New Guy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Guy

Greetings all! My name is John Foley. I live in Fairfax, VA. Hope you all don't mind a VA guy joining! Most of my fishing in in the Maryland portion of the bay. Striped bass, rockfish are my favorite target for many years. Originally from NYC. Spent some time in San Francisco and Richmond, VA as well. Been fishing all my life.

I'm new at kayak fishing. My wife and I went to Costa Rica in December and we tried it there. All I can say is... awesome! Did a lot of surf fishing in NY & NJ back in the day. Kayak fishing reminds of that somewhat as it brings me closer to the fish than a power boat could ever do.

I was actually directed here to snaggedline.com by stupidjet via tidalfish. This looks like a focused group here. Interested to meet up and get to know many of you guys.

Tight lines!
    John

Welcome to site and thanks for joining. Kayak fishing in Costa Rica most be a blast. What kind of fish were you catching?

Where in MD do you usually go fishing?
    Hobie Revolution 13
    Hobie Fishing Team

Comment

Thanks for the welcome.

Costa Rica is awesome. Snappers and jacks mostly. What I really wanted was rooster fish but, didn't happen. Knowing what I know now I would book a couple trips next time. Ralph, the guide I used is really into fishing: http://www.costaricawildfishing.com/index.html

Nice guy. Also did an offshore trip and caught several sailfish. Costa Ricans are very friendly. Great place, a lot to see and do.

I belong to a boat club. www.carefreeboats.com It's sorta like a timeshare and it works well for us. No maintenance, no insurance, no problems. Access to over 50 boats at 4 DC metro locations. DC on the Potomac, Occoquan, Bodkin Creek in Pasadena and the South River in Edgewater. Locations up and down the coast we can use as well.