Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for Rod Advice

Hey All,

So, I'm new to kayak fishing and most of the fishing I've done in the past has been fly fishing, surf fishing, or pier / shoreline fishing with spin reels.

I'm still planning on primarily fly fishing from my kayak, but of course my arm can use a break pretty often slinging a 9 weight around, so I want a good traditional rod / reel setup. I already have a little shimano reel / st. croix spincast rod that I use to throw around 1/4 oz jigs and stuff, but I'm looking for another rod, a little more substantial, to take on some of the larger guys out in the bay and sounds.

Based on some research, I think I'm going to go with the Revo Inshore for a reel. I'm pretty much at a loss as far as rods go though - I've read people like the Skeet Reese Heavy Crankbait 7'10", but I know it's also really heavy and kind of unweildy. I know I should get something around 7' so I can switch sides of the boat if the fish does.

Basically, I'd like to use this to target big stripers, redfish, and even mess around with smaller stuff like flounder and speckled trout. I could spend anywhere from $100 to $300 for the rod, obviously the higher end only if it's really going to make a difference.

So, wise folks on here, suggestions?

Thanks!

Grilled Sardine has an Airwave on the for sale thread that comes highly recommended

Comment

Just look at the thread next to this one: http://www.snaggedline.com/boatyard/...ead.php?t=1666

Comment

Revo inshore is a sweet reel, you'll like it.

As for rods, there are a ton of choices... shimano makes a nice rod, check out the teramar's (MH Fast or Extra fast action should cover most things). Also, the st croix mojo bass and mojo inshores are nice.

I have a carrot stick that I like a lot for light tackle jigging, but it's too delicate for the other stuff you're talking about.
        Hobie Local Fishing Team - Backyard Boats