OC Flounder

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OC Flounder

So I live on 32nd st and there is a pretty nice spot for flounder at the end of the road just off the bulkhead 21-15 ft of water. I'm relatively new to flounder, I've only caught 2-3 in my life time.

I've fished the last two afternoons for about 4.5 combined hours. I know the tides weren't ideal, but some flounder were biting. Yesterday I used a 2 oz bucktail with a chartreuse jig. I was getting hits, but I guess I wasn't letting it take it for long enough because when I set the hook I brought back up half of the plastic jig.

Today was using a flounder rig with GULP minnows and missed 1 or two fish. I couldn't hold the bottom with the bucktail as it was blowing about 20 from the South and chopping with 2 footers.

Any suggestions? What I should feel for in a flounder bite, etc?

Thanks!!

when fish are short striking try cutting the head off of a gulp to get the twister tail closer to the hook, or look for a different shaped bucktail. I have been using the spro ones lately with good success. (past few years that is) Also try catching some spot or croaker and give that a shot. Killie's/ mud minnows whatever you want to call them usually work well for flounder too. braid helps because its a lot more sensitive but can cause you to pull the hook right out of their mouth so try setting the hook with a slower raise and then a quick sharp hit towards the top of your set. hope this helps!

Comment

Maybe try trimming some of the hair back on your bucktail and thread the gulp up a little further so they can't short strike the back? I'd say downsize jig/bucktail but it sounds like 2oz or more is going to be needed to hold bottom.