Revo first impressions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Revo first impressions

I took my new to me Revo out over the weekend on Smith Mountain Lake in SW VA. I'm new to Hobie and I have to say I like it! I am not sure if I am faster in the Revo than my Trident, but I could definitely do it for longer. It's also lighter than my Trident. Fishing-wise, the cockpit is definitely more cramped and the pedals take up a lot of space.

I found the drive to be a little goofy to take out and put back in on the water. I guess that gets easier. I couldn't figure out if I was a 6 or 7 setting, 6 I hit the hull too much, 7 I hit the front of the boat... I guess Hobie engineers are all 5'8. I'm only 6'1'' so it must be harder for guys like Bill. Other goofy things, the molded handles? I wish they went all the way through... It made putting it on and off more awkward but I got it. I'm not sure if I'll use the gear bucket or not, it's not really sized for things I use, but would work for jigheads. I need to rethink my tackle storage now that I have the pockets and easy to open hatch there.

The rear rod holders are far away, but not impossible. I'll plan on sticking with them for now. I think a front rod holder will be on order at some point and I am considering this - http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...A1729W3053T57N because I am not the biggest fan of Ram mounts. I will probably mount the fish finder in the sail mast, but need to think about that. I busted the screen on mine but I can still see how deep it is, so I'm going to leave that on the trident and maybe just go blind for awhile on the revo till I figure out where I want it/save for something nicer.

My butt was pretty seriously wet, but I guess I can close those scuppers on calm days. That's my first impression for now... more to follow with questions for you all.
    Last edited by Redfish12; 05-11-2011, 12:59 AM.
    Hobie Local Fishing Team - Backyard Boats