My Kayak Crate

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Kayak Crate

Hey everyone I'm new to the boards but I have been Kayaking for a few years now. However I have just discovered fishing from a Kayak and like you all know, It is a very addicting and enjoyable hobby. Rigging your personal Kayak to your own likings can be fun, challenging and ultimately very satisfying.

So enter the Kayak Crate. Trial and error plays a key role when you are self designing and building a Kayak Crate. Sure you could skip all that and buy a crate from a store that is fully rigged, but where is the fun in that? Build it yourself and your guaranteed to get what you want rigged how you like it. Enough of the chit chat, here is my Crate:

My pliers and scissors are rigged right in the front of the crate for easy over the shoulder access. I dont mind if they rust because I have several other pairs.

As you can see I slapped a lid on after an initial design that was open with no lid. Not having a lid concerned me because obviously you dont plan to turn over but it is usually best to prepare for the worst. The lid is held down with a simple bungie loop that keeps it tightly closed but is still easily accessible, just unhook the top hook and it comes right open.

The Crate is split in half by my lure case from corner to corner. This may look like it would prohibit gear storage and access but It is actually quite effective. The items in the back half of the crate are completely secured by four walls with no chance of leaving the crate in case of a flip over. These items include my dry jar (keys, wallet, cell phone), a bailer, extra rope stored in the bottom (never know when you might need an escape rope). The front half of the crate is for food and drinks which are accessible without having to open the crate. The opening in the front allows you to reach behind with ease to grab a water or a snack when needed.